‘Not up to me’ – Sam Burns in US Open rules controversy that could have cost him first Major ...Middle East

Sport by : (talksport) -

Sam Burns has issued his response to being denied a drop for relief during the final round of the US Open.

The American was unable to move his ball from standing water on the 15th fairway at Oakmont.

Sky SportsBurns was denied relief after landing in standing water on the 15th fairway[/caption] Sky SportsThe American was forced to hit his second shot out of the water[/caption]

Torrential rain had caused disruption to the final round, with play delayed for an hour and a half.

At the time, Burns was in a four-way tie for the lead on one-over-par.

It came after he had ended Saturday as the overnight leader following a one-under 69 third round.

His tee shot had landed unfavourably just short of the rough on the par four and 204 yards from the pin.

After walking to his ball, Burns immediately called over a rules official in a bid to receive relief.

However, he was denied by two separate officials before being forced to take his second shot out of the water.

The approach shot found the rough as Burns went on to make a double bogey to slip down the leaderboard.

Speaking afterwards, the 28-year-old admitted: “When I walked into it I clearly could see water coming up and took practice swings and it’s just water splashing every single time.

“Called the rules official over. They disagreed. I looked at it again. I thought maybe I should get a second opinion. That rules official also disagreed.

“So at the end of the day, I mean it’s not up to me. It’s up to the rules official and that’s kind of that.”

Sky SportsBurns had been tied for the lead before a double bogey on the 15th hole[/caption]

View Tweet: t.co/0hClkpTpO6

The incident on the 15th hole came after Burns had earlier landed in a divot on two separate fairways.

He added: “It’s part of it. I was in the divot on 11 as well, it’s part of it. It happens. You play enough golf, you hit it in divots, everybody does.”

A further two bogeys on the final three holes saw Burns card an eight-over 78 final round.

He ultimately ended the day tied seventh on four-over for the tournament, scooping $615,786 (£453,123) in prize money.

However, the Ryder Cup star was denied a first Major championship in Pennsylvania.

Instead, he finished five shots adrift of JJ Spaun, who himself claimed a maiden Major victory.

Despite the disappointment, Burns’ finish was still enough for a career-best Major performance.

He surpassed his tied-ninth at the 2024 US Open 12 months ago.

Read More Details
Finally We wish PressBee provided you with enough information of ( ‘Not up to me’ – Sam Burns in US Open rules controversy that could have cost him first Major )

Also on site :

Most Viewed Sport
جديد الاخبار